Herr Memorial Library, which is an independent member of the federated Union County Library System, is governed by an independent Board of Trustees that is responsible for overseeing the library’s management, operation, and maintenance.

Members are selected for their interest in the library and its role in the community as well as for their willingness to devote the time and effort necessary to carry out the duties of a trustee.

The Board of Trustees controls the expenditure of all funds in the library’s budget.  Members work with the library’s director, who is responsible for the library’s administration, in the study, evaluation, and development of library policies and long-range plans.

In 2014, the Board of Trustees will meet at Herr Memorial Library at 5:30 p.m. on January 20, February 17, March 17, April 21, May 19, June 16, July-off, August 18, September 15, October 20, November 17, December-off. The meetings are open to the public.  Please call the Herr Memorial Library at (570) 966-0831 to confirm the date and time of meetings.

Board of Trustees of Herr Memorial Library: Kathleen Flynn Irion, President; Judith Mecouch, Vice President; Thomas Beck, Treasurer; Kym Lichtel, Secretary; Murrie Zlotziver, Sara Hudock, and Jeff Koppel.

Library director: Kelly S. Walter

Mission statement:

The mission of the Herr Memorial Library is to contribute to the community through excellence and respect to accomplish life-long learning.